Palace of Arts - Béla Bartók National Concert Hall
H-1095 Budapest, Komor Marcell u. 1.
24. February 2008. / 7:30 PM
Martijn PADDING: Three Summer Pieces (Hungarian premiére)
Frederick RZEWSKI: Coming Together
- intermission -
Louis ANDRIESSEN: Workers Union
Louis ANDRIESSEN: Racconto dall’inferno (Story from Hell) (Hungarian premiére)
UMZE Chamber Ensemble, Modern Art Orchestra
soloist: Cristina ZAVALLONI - jazz voice, Tibor SZEMZŐ - narration
Conducted by Zoltán RÁCZ 

As part of the series celebrating outstanding composers of the late twentieth century that began on December 6th, 2006, with a special "Tribute to Steve Reich" concert UMZE Chamber Ensemble now dedicates a whole concert focusing on the ouvre of renowned Dutch composer, Louis Andriessen. Alongside a recent composition by the Maestro, Racconto dall’inferno (2004), UMZE Ensemble will also perform Workers Union, a politically motivated piece, written in 1975.

The composer’s notes on the composition: "This piece combines individual freedom and severe discipline: its rhythm is exactly fixed; the pitch, on the other hand, is indicated only approximately, on a single-line stave. It is difficult to play in an ensemble and to remain in step, sort of like organising and carrying out political action."

Three Summer Pieces by Martijn Padding, one of the most promising of the next generation of Dutch composers, was recommended by Andriessen himself. "Coming Together", a composition by American composer Frederic Rzewski dates back to 1971, the year of the riots at New-York state prison, Attica. The text for Coming Together is taken from a letter that a political prisoner wrote from Attica in the spring of 1971.

"Two of the pieces from the concert programme (Workers Union, Coming Together) were premiéred by "Group 180", a significant contemporary music group of the 80’s which had worked closely with both composers. Therefore it was an obvious choice to have Tibor Szemző in this project, whose involvement will surely contribute to the authentic performance of these pieces decades after they had been conceived and performed. Quite frankly, had not been for "New Music Studio" or "Group 180" ,neither Amadinda nor UMZE Ensemble would have existed. The effect of their work can still be traced in Hungarian contemporary music"

Zoltán Rácz – artistic director of Amadinda Percussion Group and UMZE Chamber Ensemble

LOW Festival website »